Detroit Historical Canal Tour

The Detroit Historical Canal Kayak Tour started in 2008 when Riverside Kayak Connection began working with the Detroit Eastside Community Collaborative.  We worked together to develop kayaking on Detroit’s Eastside.  The Detroit Historical Canal Kayak Tour quickly became one of our most popular tours. 

Highlights of this tour include the Fisher Mansion, stories of prohibition and the Purple Gang, the friendly residents of Detroit’s “Little Venice” and a view of the Motor City’s downtown.  See Detroit like you’ve never seen it before!

 

Detroit Historical Canal Kayak Tour

Paddling Time:  2 Hours, following 30 minutes of gear fitting and safety talk.

Route Classification:   Intermediate Paddle –  Paddler should be comfortable in active water due to the potential paddling conditions, caused by wind and waves.  

Route:   Paddle from Grayhaven Mooring Facility in protected canals to the where the Fisher Mansion is located.  Then paddle up the Detroit River a short distance to what has been called the “Venice of Detroit”. Then the return trip to Grayhaven Mooring Facility downstream on the Detroit River.

Meeting Location:  Grayhaven Mooring Facility, Detroit, Michigan 

Requirements:    All personal kayaks must be 12′ long or longer and have double bulkheads or be sit-on-tops. All paddlers must have a life jacket on and zipped for the duration of the paddle.  We do not allow alcoholic beverages and we will not allow anyone under the influence of drugs or alcohol to paddle.  No smoking is allowed on our tours.  These requirements are for your safety and the safety of the group. 

Minimum Age:  14 years old. 14 – 18 year olds must be accompanied with an adult on the water.

Parking:   At the launch site there is free parking in the secured gated area of Grayhaven Mooring Facility.

Cost:   $50 Per Person For Kayak Rental  – All Riverside Kayak Connection kayaks for tours are single sit-inside kayaks.  When registering please provide your height and weight so that we bring an appropriate kayak.  

$30 Per Person With Own Kayak  – We require personal kayaks to be at least 12′ long and have double bulk-heads or be a sit-on-top.  Information on bulkheads.

Registration:  All of our tours require pre-registration.  Our tours frequently fill up so register early.  If you would like to be on the wait list for a full tour please email us at info@riversidekayak.com.

Cancellation Policy:  If for any reason you have to cancel your reservation or change the date of your booking, please call at least 48 hours prior to the tour for a full refund.  If we have to cancel due to weather conditions we will offer a full refund or reschedule your reservation.

Private Tours:  We can also book private tours.  Please contact us for availability.

Dates

Sunday, May 17, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, May 17, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 23, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, May 23, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 24, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, May 24, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Monday, May 25, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Monday, May 25, 2019 – 1:30 p.m. – FULL

Saturday, May 30, 2020 – 9:30 a.m. – FULL

Saturday, May 30, 2020 – 1:30 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, May 31, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, May 31, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 6, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, June 6, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 7, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, June 7, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 13, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, June 13, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 14, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, June 14, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 20, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, June 20, 2020 – 1:30 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, June 21, 2020 – 9:30 a.m. – FULL

Sunday, June 21, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 27, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, June 27, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 28, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, June 28, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 5, 2020 – 9:30 a.m. – FULL

Sunday, July 5, 2020 – 1:30 p.m. – FULL

Saturday, July 11, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, July 11, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 12, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, July 12, 2020 – 1:30 p.m. 

Wednesday, July 15, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, July 18, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, July 18, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 19, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, July 19, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 25, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, July 25, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 26, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, July 26, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 29, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, August 1, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, August 1, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, August 2, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, August 2, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 8, 2020 – 9:30 a.m. – FULL

Saturday, August 8, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, August 9, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, August 9, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Thursday, August 13, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, August 15, 2020 – 9:30 a.m. – FULL

Saturday, August 15, 2020 – 1:30 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, August 16, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, August 16, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 22, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, August 22, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, August 23, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, August 23, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 29, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, August 29, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, August 30, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, August 30, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 5, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, September 5, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 6, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, September 6, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 12, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, September 12, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 13, 2020 – 9:30 a.m. – FULL

Sunday, September 13, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 19, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, September 19, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 20, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, September 20, 2020 – 1:30 p.m.