Detroit Historical Canal Tour

The Detroit Historical Canal Tour started in 2008 when Riverside Kayak Connection began working with the Detroit Eastside Community Collaborative.   We worked together to develop kayaking on Detroit’s Eastside.  The Detroit Historical Canal Tour quickly became one of our most popular tours. 

Highlights of this tour include the Fisher Mansion, stories of the Purple Gang, the friendly residents of Detroit’s “Little Venice” and a view of the Motor City’s downtown.  See Detroit like you’ve never seen it before!

 Detroit Historical Canal Tour

Detroit Historical Canal Tour

Paddling Time:  2 Hours, following 30 minutes of gear fitting and safety talk.

Route Classification:   Beginner/Intermediate Paddle –  Paddler should be comfortable in active water due to the potential paddling conditions, caused by wind and waves.  

Route:   Paddle from the ox bow (protected bay) of Maheras-Gentry Park out to the Detroit River and upstream to the where the Fisher Mansion is located.  Back on the river for a short distance to what has been called the “Venice of Detroit”. Then the return trip to Maheras-Gentry Park downstream on the Detroit River.

Requirements:    All paddlers must have a life jacket on and zipped for the duration of the paddle.  We do not allow alcoholic beverages and we will not allow anyone under the influence of drugs or alcohol to paddle.  These requirements are for your safety and the safety of the group. 

Minimum Age:  14 years old. 14 – 18 year olds must be accompanied with an adult on the water.

Parking:   At the launch site there is free parking.

We are required to pull a City of Detroit Kayak Permit for each paddler.  With your registration we will ask you for an emergency contact person and their phone number.  We have to provide the Detroit Parks and Recreation Department with this information prior to the paddle.  When you meet for the paddle we will have each paddler complete the application for the permit.

Cost:   $45 Per Person For Kayak Rental  – All Riverside Kayak Connection kayaks for tours are single sit-inside kayaks.  When registering please provide your height and weight so that we bring an appropriate kayak.  

$25 Per Person With Own Kayak  – We require personal kayaks to be at least 12′ long and have double bulk-heads or be a sit-on-top.

Registration:  All of our tours require pre-registration.  Our tours frequently fill up so register early. 

Cancellation Policy:  If for any reason you have to cancel your reservation or change the date of your booking, please call at least 48 hours prior to the tour for a full refund. 

Dates

 

FULL – Sunday, May 20, 2018  /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

FULL – Sunday, May 20, 2018 / 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. – FULL

Saturday, May 26, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 26, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

FULL – Sunday, May 27, 2018  /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, May 27, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Sunday, June 3, 2018 /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Wednesday, June 6, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 

FULL – Saturday, June 9, 2018 /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

FULL – Saturday, June 9, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. – FULL

FULL – Sunday, June 10, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, June 10, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Monday, June 11, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Saturday, June 16, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Saturday, June 16, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

FULL – Sunday, June 17, 2018  /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, June 17, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, June 20, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Saturday, June 23, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Saturday, June 23, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, June 24, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, June 24, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, June 27, 2810 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Saturday, June 30, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

FULL – Saturday, June 30, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, July 1, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Friday, July 6, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Saturday, July 7, 2018 /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

FULL – Saturday, July 7, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, July 8, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 8, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Saturday, July 14, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Saturday, July 14, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

FULL – Sunday, July 15, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, July 15, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Friday, July 20, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Saturday, July 21, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Saturday, July 21, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

FULL – Sunday, July 22, 2018 /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, July 22, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 28, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, July 29, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Saturday, August 4, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

FULL –  August 4, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. – FULL

Sunday, August 5, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Monday, August 6, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, August 8, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

FULL – Saturday, August 11, 2018 /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – FULL

Saturday, August 11, 2018 / 1:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 12, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 18, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 19, 2018 /  9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Friday, August 24, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

 Saturday, August 25, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 26, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 1, 2018 / 9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 9, 2018 /  9:30 a.m.- 12:00 p.m.